PDF Print E-mail

Embracing the Legacy

"Each time a man stands up for an ideal, or acts to improve the lot of others, or strikes against injustice, he sends forth a tiny ripple of hope, and crossing each other from a million different centers of energy and daring, these ripples build a current that can sweep down the mightiest walls of oppression and resistance."

fy12 etl

We are thrilled to honor the following individuals who truly embrace the legacy of Senator Robert F. Kennedy and work tirelessly to better the lives of children and their families. Each honoree is dedicated to making positive impacts on the lives of some of the most vulnerable members of the population by raising awareness, fighting against social injustices, and advocating for those who don’t have a voice.


Please join us in congratulating the 2014 Embracing the Legacy honorees: 

William F. Achtmeyer
Bill Achtmeyer is Chairman and Managing Partner of The Parthenon Group, where he has guided its vision since its founding in 1991.  He is a recognized expert in corporate and business unit strategy and in mergers and acquisitions.  Previously, Bill was a Director at Bain & Company where he founded and led the mergers & acquisitions/integration practice.  Finally on the corporate side of his responsibilities, Bill is a Director on the Board of Briggs & Stratton and the Citizens Energy Corporation.  Philanthropically, Bill is a Trustee and Vice Chairman of the Boston Symphony Orchestra, Overseer at the Museum of Fine Arts, and a Governor for the Handel and Haydn Society. He is also Vice Chair of the Board of Trustees of Belmont Hill School and Chairman of Tenacity.  He is the former Chairman of the Massachusetts Society for the Prevention of Cruelty to Children.  Bill holds a B.A. in Public and International Affairs from the Woodrow Wilson School at Princeton University and an M.B.A. from the Tuck School of Business at Dartmouth.
Deborah A. Frank, M.D.
Dr. Frank is a Professor of Child Health and Wellbeing in the department of Pediatrics at Boston University School of Medicine, Founder and Principal Investigator of Children’s HealthWatch, and Developmental Pediatric Specialist, has written over 100 journal articles and book chapters, has served on National Institutes of Health study sections, and is a nationally recognized expert on food insecurity and children’s health.  As a board certified Developmental Behavioral pediatrician, she has extensive clinical experience working with young children with special healthcare needs.  Dr. Frank has published widely in peer reviewed journals on issues affecting low income children and has been invited as an expert witness to testify before national and local legislatures on food insecurity’s impacts on young children.  In February 2003, she was cited as one of Boston’s best pediatric doctors in Boston Magazine’s annual Best of List, and recently accepted the nomination for the Congressional Hunger Center’s Bill Emerson & Mickey Leland Hunger Leadership Award.  Dr. Frank received her Bachelor’s and medical degrees from Harvard University.  She lives in Brookline with her husband, Rabbi Neil Kominsky.
Laurie R. Garduque
Laurie Garduque is the Director of Justice Reform at the John D. and Catherine T. MacArthur Foundation in Chicago.  Laurie joined the Foundation in 1991 after serving as Director of the National Forum on the Future of Children and Families, a joint project of the National Research Council and the Institute of Medicine.  From 1984 to 1987, she was the Director of Governmental and Professional Liaison for the American Educational Research Association in Washington, D.C. This position followed the year she spent, from 1983 to 1984, as a Congressional Science Fellow in the U.S. Senate. From 1980 to 1985, Ms. Garduque held a faculty position as an Assistant Professor in Human Development at the Pennsylvania State University.  Ms. Garduque previously served on the boards of the American Psychiatric Association Foundation, Asian Americans and Pacific Islanders in Philanthropy, Grantmakers for Children Youth and Families, and the Youth Transition Funders Group Juvenile Justice Working Group, and she currently serves on the Federal Coordinating Council on Juvenile Justice and Delinquency Prevention and the federal Center for Mental Health Services National Advisory Council, under SAMHSA.  She received her bachelor's degree in Psychology and her Ph.D. in Educational Psychology from the University of California at Los Angeles.
Jonathan Kozol
In the passion of the civil rights campaigns of 1964 and 1965, Jonathan Kozol gave up the prospect of a promising and secure career within the academic world, moved from Harvard Square into a poor black neighborhood of Boston, and became a fourth grade teacher.  He has since devoted nearly his entire life to the challenge of providing equal opportunity within our public schools to every child, regardless of race, origin, or class.  Mr. Kozol is the most widely read and highly honored education writer in America.  His 1995 bestseller Amazing Grace was featured on the Oprah Winfrey Show and received the Anisfield-Wolf Book Award in 1996.  When Mr. Kozol is not with children and teachers in their classrooms, or at universities speaking to our future teachers, he can be found in Washington D.C., where he spends much of his time trying to free our schools and children from the punitive and unsuccessful federal testing law No Child Left Behind.  Mr. Kozol is a former Rhodes Scholar and winner of the National Book Award in Science, Philosophy, and Religion. 

For complete list of Embracing the Legacy honorees, click here.

event details

June 3, 2014
JFK Presidential Library and Museum
Columbia Point, Boston, MA
5:30 Cocktail Reception, Dinner & Program to follow
Presenting Sponsor
Champion Sponsor
The Parthenon Group
Embracing the Legacy Award Selection Committee
Susan Allen, Chair
Michael F. Connolly
Edward P. Kelley
Congressman Joseph P. Kennedy, III
Embracing the Legacy Event Committee
John J. Boyle, III, Co-Chair
James Geraghty, Co-Chair
Congressman Joseph P. Kennedy, III, Co-Chair
Catherine Brady
Keith P. Carroll
Mitchell Cook
Michael F. Connolly
Kevin J. Ecclesine
Philip W. Johnston
Barry O'Connell
Stephen H. Peck
Kim L. Thornton


Sponsorship opportunities and individual tickets are available for the event which includes a cocktail reception, seated dinner, and awards presentation.  Click here for more information.




Ellen Solomita
617.227.4183  ext. 143







Keep up-to-date with the latest RFK Children's Action Corps news!


Join us at one of our upcoming events!

stay connected

Join our mailing list and "like" us on Facebook!

mailing list mailing list YouTube RSS